Traveling, or simply eating out with an allergy can be complicated and scary. Disney parks make vacationing with an allergy, or other special dietary need easy. I have a dairy sensitivity and so I eat dairy-free. Disney has never let me down and always gone the extra mile to assist me when dining. Be it allergies, vegetarian, vegan, or other restrictions Disney is the place to go to know you will be taken care of.
All quick service locations can provide an allergy menu upon request which will show you what menu items are free from serval different common allergens, including gluten, dairy, eggs, nuts, fish/shellfish and soy.
While most quick service establishments are unable to make many special changes to the items on their menu these allergy menus make it clear what you can and can’t eat.
When ordering make sure to tell them you are ordering from the allergy menu and they will take special steps to lower the risk of cross contamination. Your food will come out with a special allergy tooth-pick or notation of some kind.
Hotel Food Courts – While these quick service food courts will also have allergy menus available, you can also ask to speak to the chef about your needs and they will gladly make accommodations and make you something similar to the on menu item that may have an allergen. For example, dairy free mickey waffles.
When making a reservation online make sure to check the box stating you are dining with special dietary needs. Then when you arrive you will be asked who has the allergy by your host or server. If you are not asked make sure to bring it up so that they can assist you properly.
Table service restaurants not only have allergy menus but if you would like you can speak to the chef about making something special to meet your needs.
At buffets or family style situations, instead of an allergy menu you will get an allergy pamphlet stating all the items on the buffet and what they have in them.
If you prefer you can also have the chef walk you around the buffet and point out what is safe for you. You can also have them bring you the buffet food from the back to avoid any cross contamination.
Typically they will also offer to make you something special, for example allergy free waffles or a vegan version of the breakfast platter at the family style breakfasts.
Throughout kiosks and stands you can ask cast members about what is in the snacks they are selling. You can also ask to see the ingredient lists.
Disney even labels some items on the menu boards as gluten free, etc.
Throughout the parks you will find the “Snacks with Character” line of pre-packaged snacks. These are designed to be allergy-free snacks and are clearly labeled what allergies they are safe for.
Places like the Main Street Ice Cream Parol have special ice cream options for those who are vegan or dairy free etc.
For festival booths such as Food and Wine, asking the cast members at the booths is your best option to make sure you are safe to eat what they are serving.
Starting in 2019 every Disney World restaurant has at least one plant based option. These options are listed on the standard menus and are very easy to find. This greatly expands the options for vegans and vegetarians. It also allows those with dairy or egg concerns to order off the normal menu or order quickly if needed.
At Disney World a must visit for those with allergies, or special diets is Erin McKenna’s Bakery in Disney Springs. Everything there is glueten, dairy and egg free, it is also vegan and kosher. You can even find some of there treats packaged throughout the hotels and parks.
A little research ahead of time can go a long way to making sure you eat safely and eat something you like. Disney posts their menus on each restaurants page and they often feature the allergy options as well.
There are also countless sites online dedicated to Disney dinning with menu photos. These are a few of my favorites.
My Top Dairy Free Tips:
- Dole Whips (as long as you don’t get a swirl with vanilla) is dairy free.
- Blue and Green Milk in Galaxies Edge is dairy free.
- Disney popcorn is vegan.
- So are the mickey pretzels!
- Take advantage of the allergy waffles.
If you want to visit Disney Parks but allergies or special diets are a concern for you then worry no more. You could not be in better hands than Disney.
Follow me! https://linktr.ee/katiethemagicsyours